Brian Waters Wins NFL Man Of The Year Award

Kansas City Chiefs guard Brian Waters has won the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, according to KMBC.

An official announcement was expected as part of the league’s events leading up to Sunday’s Super Bowl.  The honor recognizes players for their community service as well as strong performance on the field.  The award winner receives a $25,000 donation to a charity of his choice.

Waters created the Brian Waters 54 Foundation in 2004 to help less-fortunate families.  It now serves four communities, including Kansas City.  Cleveland Browns receiver/safety Mike Furrey and London Fletcher of the Washington Redskins were the other two finalists.  Waters joins Len Dawson, Willie Lanier, Will Shields and Derrick Thomas as Chiefs players to have won the honor.

He was a finalist for the second time in three years.

If you aren’t lucky enough to be playing in the Super Bowl, this is the best award you could hope to win this weekend.  A fantastic accomplishment for Waters and definitely over due considering all of the word he does off the field.

The Chiefs will now be represented before and after tomorrow’s game.  Waters will be given the award before the game and Len Dawson will be part of the Vince Lombardi trophy presentation during the postgame ceremonies.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory