Andy Reid’s First 53-Man Chiefs Roster

The Kansas City Chiefs reduced their roster to the league maximum of 53 Saturday by releasing 20 players and waiving/injured two others.

In a team release, GM John Dorsey talked about the roster moves.

“The men we let go today put in a substantial amount of work for our club and we are grateful for their efforts. We feel like we have a good foundation and we will continue to look to build our roster in the best interests of the team.”

The biggest name among Andy Reid’s first final cuts as Chiefs head coach is TE Tony Moeaki. The former third-round pick looked like he would be able to make the team before suffering a fractured shoulder.

Here is a full list of the players released:

OT Steven Baker, WR Josh Bellamy, S Malcolm Bronson, S Greg Castillo, CB Kennard Cox, DL Marcus Dixon, OL Tommie Draheim, LB Darin Drakeford, RB Shaun Draughn, WR Frankie Hammon Jr, TE Demetrius Harris, DB Tysyn Hartman, DE Austen Lane, LB Orie Lemon, CB Semaj Moody, FB Toben Opurum, OT Matt Reynolds, WR Rico Richardson, OL Rokevious Watkins, LB/DE Ridge Wilson.

The Chiefs also waived injured G Ricky Henry and TE Tony Moeaki.

If Dorsey and Reid decide to claim any players released around the NFL, those moves will be announced on Sunday.

For now, take a look at the first Chiefs 53-man roster under Reid.

QB (3)
Alex Smith
Chase Daniel
Tyler Bray

RB (3)
Jamaal Charles
Knile Davis
Cyrus Gray

FB (1)
Anthony Sherman

WR (6)
Dwayne Bowe
Donnie Avery
Dexter McCluster
Devon Wylie
AJ Jenkins
Junior Hemingway

TE (3)
Anthony Fasano
Travis Kelce
Kevin Brock

OL (8)
Branden Albert
Jeff Allen
Rodney Hudson
Jon Asamoah
Eric Fisher
Donald Stephenson
Geoff Schwartz
Eric Kush

DL (6)
Tyson Jackson
Dontari Poe
Mike DeVito
Allen Bailey
Jerrell Powe
Anthony Toribio

LB (10)
Tamba Hali
Justin Houston
Derrick Johnson
Akeem Jordan
Frank Zombo
Nico Johnson
Zac Diles
Edgar Jones
Josh Martin
Mike Catapano

CB (4)
Brandon Flowers
Sean Smith
Jalil Brown
Dunta Robinson

S (6)
Eric Berry
Kendrick Lewis
Quintin Demps
Husain Abdullah
Bradley McDougald
Sanders Commings

ST (3)
Ryan Succop
Dustin Colquitt
Thomas Gafford

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory