Chiefs Make It Official With 10 Free Agents

Teams around the NFL can now officially sign free agents and the Kansas City Chiefs announced Friday night that they have signed ten players.  Eight of the players were unrestricted free agents, one was a restricted free agent and one was an exclusive right free agent.

Unrestricted Free Agent
RB Jackie Battle
WR Steve Breaston
WR Terrance Copper
CB Travis Daniels
S Jon McGraw
T Ryan O’Callaghan
TE Leonard Pope
C Casey Wiegmann

Restricted Free Agent
FB Mike Cox

Exclusive Rights Free Agent
S Reshard Langford

Of the ten players, all but one — Breaston — played for the Chiefs in 2010.  The surprises here aren’t who has signed, but who hasn’t.  There is still no word from franchise player LB Tamba Hali or when he might report to camp.  Restricted free agents CB Brandon Carr, DE Wallace Gilberry and OT Barry Richardson all made major contributions last season and have yet to sign their tenders.

Though there is still plenty of time, it’s a bit puzzling why unrestricted free agents LB Corey Mays and C Rudy Niswanger weren’t brought back.  Mays has been disappointing on defense, but he seemed to be a favorite of Todd Haley, while Niswanger started all 16 games for the Chiefs just two seasons ago before Wiegmann returned.

Once the Chiefs drafted QB Ricky Stanzi, there was no way UFA QB Brodie Croyle would return.  Croyle had a chance to prove himself when Matt Cassel went down with appendicitis last year, but did little to distinguish himself.

The other UFAs that have yet to be signed are FB Tim Castille and LB Charlie Anderson.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory