Chiefs Release Seven More Players

The Kansas City Chiefs continued to get closer to the 53-man roster limit by announcing they have released seven players:

TE Leroy Banks, WR Rich Gunnell, G/C Lemuel Jeanpierre, T/G Ikechuku Ndukwe, CB Mike Richardson, LB John Russell and G Dan Santucci.


The only surprise here is Ike Ndukwe on the offensive line.  It makes sense that when I finally convince myself that the Chiefs would go with the veteran Ndukwe over the young Colin Brown that they go the exact opposite direction.  The only thing standing between Brown and a roster spot now is the injured Darryl Harris.

Banks has a fan in Todd Haley and could find his way onto the practice squad.  Jake O’Connell is no lock to stay in Kansas City beyond the initial cuts and having Banks around in practice every week would help keep the pressure on.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory