Chiefs Vote Jamaal Charles MVP, Ryan Succop ROY

The Kansas City Chiefs today announced Jamaal Charles was named the winner of the Derrick Thomas MVP Award and Ryan Succop earned the Mack Lee Hill Award.  Both honors are voted on by Chiefs players and will be officially presented their award at the 40th annual 101 Banquet on March 6th at the Westin Crown Center.

Charles led the Chiefs in nearly all major offensive categories, including rushing yards, yards from scrimmage, combined net yards and total TDs.  He became the first player in NFL history to rush for over 1,100 yards on fewer than 200 carries.  He became the ninth player in franchise history to rush for 1,000 yards and was the first to accomplish the feat since 2006.  All incredible marks considering Charles spent just over half a season as the club’s feature back.

Succop’s rookie season was the most productive in post-merger history.  His 86.21 FG percentage tied for the best FG make percentage by a rookie since the NFL merger in 1970.  He also made the most field goals by a rookie in franchise history with 25 connections, passing Pro Football Hall of Famer Jan Stenerud’s mark of 21 in 1967.  Not bad for the final pick of the 2009 draft.

Tickets for the 101 Banquet are available by calling Premier Sports Management at (913) 681-6990.

Both of these guys are more than deserving of their awards.

I would love to see the breakdown of voting the way you do with league awards.  Because I bet that Tamba Hali and Brian Waters both received their fair share of votes.  Hali got all the attention of opposing defenses (not to mention held on every play) and still managed to be a force.  As for Waters we’ve learned this week just how badly his injury was and how he gutted through the entire season without complaining.

Succop was probably close to a unanimous pick.  Jovan Belcher was a pleasant surprise, it’s just nearly impossible to compete with Succop when he’s one of the better players at his position in the league.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory