Chiefs Waive Kolby Smith, Matt Gutierrez; 4 Others

The Kansas City Chiefs announced that they have waived six players including QB Matt Gutierrez and RB Kolby Smith.  Also released were TE Leroy Banks, DB Andre Jones, OL Nick Landry and OL Jermail Porter.

Gutierrez has played in six games with New England (2007-08) and Kansas City (2009).  He appeared in one contest for the Chiefs in 2009.

Smith played in 27 games (nine starts) in three seasons with Kansas City (2007-09), rushing 162 times for 540 yards with three TDs and catching 34 passes for 209 yards. He saw action in four contests for the Chiefs in 2009.

Smith and Gutierrez are the only names that jump out here at first glance, but the practices over the last couple of weeks foreshadowed both of those decisions.

When Brodie Croyle went down with an injury, it was Tyler Palko — and not Gutierrez — that stepped in to take reps with the second team offense. Likewise, with Jamaal Charles recovering from offseason surgery, it was Kestahn Moore turning heads during OTAs.

Landry, Banks and Jones were all undrafted free agents and outside of a blip from Banks, mostly stayed off of the radar during their short stays in Kansas City.

I thought the Chiefs might take a flier on Porter.  He would have been a project this year, but with the improved depth, it looked like Todd Haley might want to try and develop him along with 2009 draft pick Colin Brown to see if they could find a diamond in the rough.

I’m starting to think this will be a mostly project-free season.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory