Chiefs Players Honor Jon McGraw

He isn’t likely to play for the Kansas City Chiefs this weekend, but veteran safety Jon McGraw was honored by his teammates on Friday, the team announced.  McGraw was voted the Chiefs 2011 Ed Block Courage Award, given to one player on each team for commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

McGraw commented on the award in a press release.

“It’s a tremendous honor and something that I’m very proud of,” McGraw said.  “The award is part of a tremendous organization that has a long line of special players and special human being that have been recognized through it.”

He isn’t Eric Berry — who is? — but McGraw has filled in as well as any of us could have expected since the Chiefs lost their star safety.  You also can’t say enough positive things about McGraw buying into Todd Haley’s program from day one, helping him stand out as one of the few Herm Edwards/Carl Peterson holdovers to still have a spot on the roster.

All 32 Ed Block Courage Award winners will be honored in Baltimore next March.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory