Jamaal Charles Nominated For Player Of The Year

The season is over for Jamaal Charles but you have a chance to send him off with a victory.  After being nominated for NFL Ground Player of the Week four times this season, Charles is now up for Player of the Year among running backs.

Voting is now open and the Chiefs best player will need a lot of help to beat out the league’s leading rusher.

NFL Ground Player of the Year

Jamaal Charles – Kansas City Chiefs

Charles rushed for 1,467 yards and averaged 6.38 yards per carry (230 carries), helping the Kansas City Chiefs win the AFC West title and reach the playoffs.  Charles joined Pro Football Hall of Famer Jim Brown (291 attempts, 1,863 yards, 6.40 yards per carry in 1963) as the only players in NFL history to have at least 1,400 rushing yards and average more than 6.30 yards per carry in a single season.  Charles played in all 16 games and had five rushing touchdowns including a 56-yard touchdown in Week 1.  He was nominated for four FedEx Ground NFL Player of the Week awards in 2010, winning once.

Arian Foster – Houston Texans

Foster led the NFL in rushing with 1,616 yards and 16 rushing touchdowns. During Week 1, Foster scored three touchdowns and rushed for a team-record 231 yards, a total that marks the second-best Kickoff Weekend rushing performance since 1933.  He became the first player in NFL history to rush for at least 200 yards and three touchdowns on Kickoff Weekend.  Foster was nominated for three FedEx Ground NFL Player of the Week awards in 2010, winning twice.

Michael Turner – Atlanta Falcons

Turner led the NFC in rushing with 1,371 yards and 12 touchdowns and rushed 334 times, the most in the NFL in 2010.  Turner played in all 16 games, starting 15 of them, helping the Falcons win the NFC South and lock up the No. 1 seed in the NFC for the Playoffs.  In Week 14, he had 28 carries for 112 yards and three touchdowns in the 31-10 win over the Carolina Panthers.  Turner was nominated for four FedEx Ground NFL Player of the Week awards in 2010.

Winning this award — or any others that come his way this offseason — won’t take away the sting from the loss to the Ravens though it will be nice to end the year with some national recognition.

Charles finished a close second to Foster for the rushing title and did so with 97 less carries.  He was one of the most effective running backs in NFL history and by far the best in the league this season.  Vote early and often to help Charles win this honor that he is more than deserving of.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory