Kansas City Chiefs Release 14 Players

The NFL’s deadline for teams to have their roster at the maximum of 75 is Tuesday at 3 p.m. and the Kansas City Chiefs got an early start Sunday by announcing the release of 14 players.

GM John Dorsey talked about the difficulty of these decisions in a statement released through the team.

“We have to make decisions that we feel are in the best interest of our football team and unfortunately this is part of the process. These gentlemen have put in a lot of hard work and effort for our franchise, and we wish them nothing but the best moving forward.”

14 players released as part of the Chiefs first round of cuts:

DB Vince Agnew, DE Miguel Chavis, WR Terrance Copper, OL Ryan Durand, OL Hutch Eckson, DB Otha Foster III, OL A.J. Hawkins, DE Rob Lohr, CB Kamaal McIlwain, RB Jordan Roberts, WR Tyler Shoemaker, QB Ricky Stanzi, DB Neiko Thorpe and FB Braden Wilson.

Among the cuts, Durand and Thorpe were the only players we had making the final 53-man roster in our latest prediction.

The Chiefs roster now sits at 76, meaning they will still need to cut ties with one more player before Tuesday afternoon. The final cuts must be submitted to the league by 5 p.m. on August 31.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory