Todd Haley Named NFL Alumni Coach Of The Year

After finishing third in the AP Coach of the Year voting earlier this week, Kansas City Chiefs head coach Todd Haley was named NFL Alumni Coach of the Year on Saturday.

Haley beat out Lovie Smith of the Chicago Bears and Mike Smith of the Atlanta Falcons for the honor.

It’s good to see Haley walk away with this award after being the AP decided they were going to vote for the duo of Bill Belichick and Tom Brady instead of a coach that helped his team surprise the whole league.

While Haley was honored, Jamaal Charles was beaten for Running Back of the Year by Jacksonville Jaguars’ Maurice Jones-Drew and Dustin Colquitt lost Special Teams Player of the Year to Chicago’s Devin Hester.

Considering Charles was the best back in the league, I’ve been surprised each time someone passes him over for an award.  Colquitt, on the other hand, didn’t turn in a great season making it a bit of a surprise to see the veteran among the finalists.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

NFL Blog Directory